Advice on new bourbon

Discuss any bourbon related topics here that do not belong in a forum below.

Moderator: Squire

Advice on new bourbon

Unread postby wormraper » Fri Sep 30, 2016 2:02 am

Hi guys. I'm fairly newbish (comparatively) to the bourbon community, but I have loved bourbon for quite some time. I guess you could say I'm "self taught" and started out with crap like Evan Williams black, Jack Daniels, Jim Beam white, and have slowly moved my way up the ladder and right now my go to's are Bulleit and Maker's Mark... Both of which I find very tasty. Right now I'm wanting to expand my horizons and move out to some new brands and hopefully better quality. I don't want to drop $60 a bottle sadly, but I'm looking for what you guys would recommend as AT LEAST on par with the Bulleit/Makers Mark and hopefully better for a reasonable price. Basically what would you guys recommend know that those two are my quality floor.
wormraper

Re: Advice on new bourbon

Unread postby ebo » Fri Sep 30, 2016 3:07 pm

First..... none of the bourbons you listed are crap. Inexpensive? Considering what one "can" pay... sure. They are decent pours, none the less. If you like the Bulleit, give Four Roses Small Batch and Single Barrel a try. Old Grand Dad Bonded and114 are also quality pours for considerably under $60.00. Lets see..... Wild Turkey 101 and Rare Breed are also very good pours for under what you want to pay. I'm sure a few of the guys/gals will offer a few more. Enjoy the experience!
ebo

Unread postby RandyG » Fri Sep 30, 2016 5:30 pm

Evan Williams single barrel, Rowan's Creek and Four Roses small batch would be excellent choices. Closer in profile to the Bulliet and Makers you like would be Four Roses single barrel and Wild Turkey kentucky spirit. Knob Creek single barrel is an excellent choice as well and drinks much, much easier than it's 120 proof would suggest.

One thing that helped me out was finding a reviewer or forum members that have similar tastes.
RandyG