New Bourbon Drinker; any tips? Also.. where to get Tribute??

Discuss any bourbon related topics here that do not belong in a forum below.

Moderator: Squire

New Bourbon Drinker; any tips? Also.. where to get Tribute??

Unread postby JAORobot » Sun Jan 01, 2006 7:05 am

Hi, just signed up for the forum after searching the internet for some bourbon/whiskey information/reviews.

About 2-3 weeks back, I had a shot of Rare Breed with my brother, and really loved it... I have very little whiskey experience outside of the usual mixers and maybe a shot here or there..

anyways; i had a bottle of Jack Daniels Single barrel I had gotten as a gift, as well as a bottle of gentleman jack I had gotten as a gift..

so heres what I've added recently; or found that I had and had never even touched from my large liquor collection (In the summer I have alot of friends/family over at an outside bar and its stocked very well.)

-Johnnie Walker Black
-Johnnie Walker Green
-Seagram's 7
-Jack Daniels Single Barrel
-Gentleman Jack
-Wild Turkey Rare Breed (Just picked this up)
-Wild Turkey Kentucky Spirit (bought today!)

oh, as well as a few bottles of Early Times Mint Juleps that were a huge pain to track down in Illinois, but a bit of it did end up getting shipped around the derby time..

anyways, so i've collected all the whiskeys I've got, and definately find that I prefer the american stuff, mostly the bourbons I have, over anything else.. I understand Johnnie Walker green is somewhat expensive, but I just didnt find the taste of either JW to be up my alley..

The Gentleman Jack is pleasant but somewhat boring, the single barrel is really nice.

The Wild Turkey's really have my fancy; not sure what it is.. but I love everything from their logo/bottle to their smell, to their taste and strength..

so; i am just getting into sipping instead of doing shots, as it seems a better way to enjoy them and really capture everything they have to offer..