old gottschalk pure rye baltimore ma. l&j and all

Have an old/rare bottle you'd like some more info on?

Moderator: Squire

old gottschalk pure rye baltimore ma. l&j and all

Unread postby rhowton » Fri Oct 19, 2007 1:12 pm

hello , my name is rick and i live in virginia. i am new to bourbon enthusiast and have some questions about an old bottle i found doing some work on an old plantation here in gloucester, va. the bottle is labeled captain jack whiskey and is from the gottschalk company of baltimore md. i have`nt been able to find any info about the gottschalks or anything about captain jack pure rye and malt whiskey. i saw something about your research that says that gottschalk is coming soon and tried to do some of my own and got nowhere. unfortunately my camera recently suffered a ghost hunting accident and cant offer you a picture either so i decided to write and see what happens.the label reads that the whiskey was distilled for j.h. adams , commercial place near ferries wharf norfolk, va. i am very curious.let me know what you can.
rhowton

Unread postby EllenJ » Fri Oct 19, 2007 3:50 pm

Hi Rick,
Gottschalk was one of the venerable producers of Maryland rye whiskey in the pre-prohibition (and especially pre-pure-food-act) glory days of that style. Their best-known brand was Pointer Maryland Rye, which featured a portrait of a bird dog in action. I haven't found out much more about it than that, yet. I found nothing about a Captain Jack brand offered by Gottschalk.

However, there was a "Cap'n Jack" whiskey sold by the Cincinnati Distillers Distributing Company. It appears to be from either just before or more likely just after prohibition. This was apparently the sort of whiskey that lends support to common opinions about "manufactured whiskey". Hopefully, that isn't what yours is.

Hurry and get your camera fixed! We'd love to see this.
Attachments
Pointer Maryland Rye - red .jpg
Pointer Maryland Rye - red .jpg (118.79 KiB) Viewed 3762 times