Recommendations for a Newbie?

Love bourbon but still enjoy an occasional foreign whisky pour as well? Discuss some of your favorites here.

Moderator: Squire

Recommendations for a Newbie?

Unread postby pamulli » Sun Apr 15, 2007 7:45 pm

I primarily drink Bourbon, but lately have been enjoying a bottle of Macallan 12 year and wanted to find out what other good Single Malt's are out there (under $50). Anyone have any recommendations?...preferably something that isn't too difficult to find.

Thanks
pamulli

Unread postby Mike » Mon Apr 16, 2007 5:14 pm

I am no Scotch expert, but for the money, I find Balvenie DoubleWood to be quite nice. If you like the smokey, peaty Scotch some of the Talisker Scotch's are reasonable and good. I haven't purchased any in a while but I think the younger Highland Park Scotch's are also very good. And, Bowmore has some high quality, reasonably priced whisky that is very good too, e.g. Darkest Islay. We only have a small number of Scotch drinkers here.
Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rage at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light. - Dylan Thomas
Mike

Unread postby TreacleSponge » Thu May 01, 2008 3:46 pm

I mainly drink scotch but lately I’ve been trying a few bourbons, hence the lurking here :)

If you like Macallan, maybe try some other sherried drams – Mortlach, Glenfarclas, Aberlour. A little more expensive is Aberlour A’bunadh, but it’s very reasonably priced for a cask strength whisky.

Highland Park 12yo is an excellent buy, heathery honey malt and smoke; or try an Islay for something completely different - maybe Laphroaig Quarter Cask for a sweet peaty hit, or Ardbeg 10yo for burnt-stick smoke.

Hope that helps :)
TreacleSponge

Unread postby TreacleSponge » Thu May 01, 2008 3:48 pm

Ooops, just noticed the OP's date... I replied a year too late :oops:
TreacleSponge

Unread postby Dump Bucket » Fri May 02, 2008 3:07 pm